NHS – Integrated Care Systems

Since the Health and Care Act 2022, there are now 42 Integrated Care Systems across England.

Each Integrated Care System has two statutory elements, an Integrated Care Partnership (sometimes known as an ICP) and an NHS Integrated Care Board (sometimes referred to an ICB).

Integrated Care Partnership

An Integrated Care Partnership is a statutory committee jointly formed between the NHS Integrated Care Board and all upper-tier local authorities that fall within the ICS area (in Surrey this is Surrey County Council).  This committee brings together a broad alliance of partners concerned with improving the care, health and wellbeing of the population, with membership determined locally. Healthwatch Surrey are a part of these in Surrey.

Integrated Care Board

An Integrated Care Board is a statutory NHS organisation responsible for developing a plan for meeting the health needs of the population, managing the local NHS budget and arranging for the provision of health services in the ICS area.  With the creation of Integrated Care Boards the previous Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) were closed down, with the majority of their statutory duties taken on by the new ICB.

Within the county of Surrey there are 2 different Integrated Care Boards, NHS Surrey Heartlands and NHS Frimley.

NHS Surrey Heartlands covers East Surrey, Surrey Downs, Guildford and Waverley, and North West Surrey.

NHS Frimley covers Surrey Heath, East Berkshire, Farnham and North East Hampshire.

To find out more, visit – NHS Surrey Heartlands – ICS and NHS Frimley – aka the Integrated Care Board | Frimley Health and Care.

Social care

Surrey County Council are responsible for commissioning the following services:

Public health

Public Health falls under the remit of Surrey County Council.

Keep in touch